Home»CFDS»Hedging

Protect against falling markets

Hedge your stock portfolio with put options or CFD indices

Protecting your assets and investments is just as important as setting your investment objectives.  It is therefore a good idea to adopt hedging strategies for your portfolio, especially if it contains investments with a low level of diversification, and to be prepared for any market situation at any time. One way to implement a hedging strategy involves using contracts for difference, or CFDs (known as “hedging with CFDs”).

Hedging is a trading technique that allows you to protect either your entire portfolio or an individual position against adverse market movements. You would use it, for instance, to shield your portfolio against a potential loss of value if the stock markets are forecast to fall. Instead of acting on individual investments, a hedging strategy gives you greater security and flexibility in managing your portfolio as a whole. 

 

Why use hedging techniques to cover your risks

You prevent the market from eroding the value of your portfolio. Rather than taking a hedging position for every individual exposure, you only need to carry out one transaction involving a certain asset. This transaction is designed to offset any fall in the value of your portfolio and it can all be done with a single click. In other words, hedging can be defined as opening a new position to maintain your portfolio’s value until the market recovers, i.e. until the downturn is over. 

 

Long equity portfolio

Portfolio of equities traded on a certain index or market, totalling an amount equivalent to the value of the assets in Swiss francs.

Short-term downtrend expected

Uncertainties over price trends are sparked by financial market conditions, the macroeconomic environment and/or geopolitical risks. The visual presentation or technical composition of the indicators will help you by pointing towards the start of a market correction.

Trade: open your hedge

Pick the right instrument, set the relevant nominal value to be hedged and take the hedging position to be kept open until market conditions change.

 

 Practical examples

Here is a practical example.  Your portfolio is worth USD 100,000 and is made up of shares traded on the Nasdaq (e.g. Amazon, Facebook, Google/Alphabet, Cisco, Intel, Microsoft, Nvidia, eBay, JD.com, Netflix, AMD, Tesla and Apple). You are expecting a correction on the US market and thus need to sell a number of CFDs on Nasdaq indices worth USD 100,000.

Assuming that the Nasdaq CFD index is trading at 7,100, hedging your USD 100,000 portfolio will require you to sell 14 Nasdaq CFDs (100,000/7,100).

 

The same calculation applies to all the other stock markets on which you hold a portfolio.

For instance, if you have CHF 75,000 invested in securities traded on the Swiss stock exchange (e.g. Nestlé, Swatch, ABB, Credit Suisse, Lonza Group, Novartis, Roche Holding, Swisscom, Swiss Re, UBS and Zurich Insurance) and you anticipate a corrective fall on the Swiss market, you will have to sell a certain number of CFDs on the SMI index to achieve the equivalent of CHF 75,000.

Assuming that the CFD on the SMI (called “SWISS20.I”) is trading at 9,330, you will need to sell eight CFDs on the SMI to hedge a portfolio of CHF 75,000.

 

Try out the hedging technique for yourself and protect your portfolio against the vagaries of the stock market.

Contact us for more information on CFDs and our seminars.

Disclaimer:

CFDs are leveraged instruments that can result in a loss exceeding the amount of the capital invested. They are highly speculative and thus call for a prudent approach to trading in investments of this kind. The information on this page is not to be construed as investment recommendations and merely contains examples for educational use. This publication is intended for information and/or promotional purposes only and is not to be understood as financial advice or as encouragement to act or invest in accordance with a certain strategy. This publication is not to be construed as a guarantee in trading strategy matters. Its content is not to be interpreted as a full description of all the risks relating to the relevant product or service. We would recommend that you consult your own financial advisor before making any investments or executing any transactions after reading this content.

Cornèrtrader is the online trading brand of Cornèr Bank Ltd. The website, all pages thereof and the material contained therein are not intended for natural or legal persons who, by virtue of their nationality, place of business, residence or for other reasons are subject to a legal system that prohibits or limits access thereto, consultation, availability or publication thereof, the presentation of financial services or the marketing of certain financial products. In particular, certain sections or pages relating to products and services of Cornèr Bank Ltd. are intended only for persons resident and/or domiciled in Switzerland. Access to the Cornèr Bank Ltd. website is prohibited to all persons to whom such restrictions apply. Please also read the legal notes and privacy notice.
OK

Home»CFD»Couverture

Protégez-vous contre la chute des marchés

Couvrez votre portefeuille d'actions avec des options (put) de vente ou des indices CFD

La protection de vos actifs et de vos investissements est tout aussi importante que la définition des objectifs d’investissement.  Il convient donc d’avoir des stratégies de couverture de son portefeuille, notamment par rapport à des investissements peu diversifiés, et d’être toujours prêt à comparer toutes les situations de marché. La stratégie de couverture est définie comme « hedging » et peut aussi être utilisée en recourant à l’utilisation des CFD (« hedging with CFDs »).

Le hedging est une technique de trading qui permet de protéger l’ensemble de votre portefeuille ou une seule position des évolutions négatives du marché. Cette technique est adoptée, par exemple, lorsqu’on prévoit que le marché des actions décrochera, afin d’éviter une éventuelle perte de valeur de son portefeuille. La stratégie de hedging vous offre une plus grande sécurité et souplesse de gestion de votre portefeuille lorsqu’elle est mise en œuvre au niveau global, plutôt qu’en agissant sur chaque titre. 

 

Pourquoi se couvrir avec des techniques de hedging?

Ne laissez pas le marché réduire la valeur de votre portefeuille. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’ouvrir des positions de hedging sur chaque position. Il suffit d’effectuer une transaction sur un actif déterminé visant à équilibrer la valeur du portefeuille, le tout d’un simple clic. En d’autres termes, la stratégie de couverture peut être définie comme une nouvelle position avec laquelle neutraliser la valeur du portefeuille jusqu’à ce que les conditions du marché se rétablissent ou jusqu’à ce que la période baissière prenne fin.

 

Long portfeuille de participations

Portefeuille constitué d’actions échangées selon un certain indice ou marché pour un total équivalant à la valeur en CHF des actifs.

Tendance à la baisse prévue à court term

Les conditions des marchés financiers, macro-économiques et/ou risques géopolitiques suscitent des incertitudes quant à l’évolution des prix. La composition graphique ou technique des indicateurs vous aide, en affichant le début d’une correction de marché.

Commerce: ouvrez votre couverture

Sélectionnez le bon instrument, définissez la valeur nominale correspondante à couvrir, ouvrez la position de couverture, qu’il faut garder ouverte jusqu’à ce que les conditions de marché changent.

 

Exemples pratiques

Nous vous proposons ci-après un exemple pratique.  Votre portefeuille a une valeur de 100 000 USD en titres échangés sur le Nasdaq (comme Amazon, Facebook, Google -Alphabet, Cisco, Intel, Microsoft, Nvidia, eBay, JD.com, Netflix, AMD, Tesla, Apple). Vous vous attendez à une correction du marché américain, vous devez donc vendre un certain nombre de CFD sur les indices Nasdaq d’une valeur de 100 000 USD.

En supposant que l’indice CFD Nasdaq s’échange à 7100, pour couvrir votre portefeuille de 100 000 USD, vous devrez vendre 14 CFD Nasdaq (100 000/7100).

 

Ce même calcul vaut pour toutes les autres bourses auprès desquelles vous détenez un portefeuille.

Exemple: si vous avez 75 000 CHF de valeur investis en titres échangés à la Bourse suisse (ex: Nestlé, Swatch, ABB, Credit Suisse, Lonza Group, Novartis, Roche Holding, Swisscom, Swiss Re, UBS, Zurich Insurance), et si vous vous attendez à une baisse de correction du marché suisse, vous devrez vendre un nombre déterminé de CFD sur l’indice SMI pour une contre-valeur de 75 000 CHF.

En supposant que le CFD sur l’indice SMI (nom de l’instrument : SWISS20.i) s’échange à 9330, pour couvrir un portefeuille de 75 000 CHF, vous devrez vendre 8 CFD sur l’indice SMI.

 

 

Essayez vous aussi la technique du « hedging » et protégez votre portefeuille contre les imprévus du marché des actions.

Pour de plus amples informations concernant les CFD et les séminaires, veuillez nous contacter.

Disclaimer:

Les CFD sont des instruments à effet de levier qui peuvent entraîner une perte supérieure au capital investi, ils sont hautement spéculatifs. C’est pourquoi nous recommandons d’adopter une approche prudente lorsque vous utilisez ces instruments. Les informations contenues dans cette page ne doivent pas être considérées comme des conseils d’investissement, mais constituent des exemples à usage purement pédagogique. Cette publication n’a qu’une fin d’information et/ou de promotion et ne doit pas être assimilée à des conseils en matière financière ou à un encouragement à agir ou à investir selon une stratégie particulière. Cette publication ne doit pas être interprétée comme une garantie en matière de stratégies de trading. Son contenu ne doit pas être interprété comme une description complète de l’ensemble des risques liés au produit/service en question. Nous vous conseillons de consulter vos conseillers financiers avant d’effectuer tout investissement ou transaction après la lecture de ce contenu.

Cornèrtrader est la marque de trading en ligne de la Cornèr Banque SA. Le site, toutes ses pages et le matériel qu'elles contiennent ne s'adressent pas aux personnes appartenant à des juridictions dans lesquelles – en raison de la nationalité, de la personne, de sa résidence ou pour d'autres raisons – leur accès, leur consultation, disponibilité ou publication sont limitées ou interdites. Le contenu des sections "La Cornèr Banque" et "Nos services" s'adresse uniquement aux personnes domiciliées, respectivement résidant en Suisse: la section "Nos fonds" s'adresse uniquement aux pays où ceux-ci sont enregistrés. Les personnes qui ne satisfont pas à ces exigences doivent en conséquence s'abstenir d'y accéder. Lire les mentions légales et la Déclaration sur la protection des données.
OK