Captcha not verified
Submission failed
>

Home»Margin Requirements

General

FAQ Margin Requirements

Which are the products using margin requirements?

They are derivatives products. They use leverage, which means that with a small guarantee (margin requirement) you can open much bigger positions, which you could otherwise do with your own account value. Cornèrtrader offers as derivatives CFDs (all types), Listed and OTC FX Options and Futures. Single equities, Bonds and Mutual Funds are not derivative products but are normally called cash products, as to open a position you would need to pay the entire nominal value of the transaction.

What are the initial and maintenance margin requirements?

The initial margin requirement is the one that is needed to open a position. Once the order is executed and the position is opened, the margin will be calculated on the maintenance margin instead, which is normally lower than the initial.

What is the tiered margin?

The tiered margin is a way of calculating the margins on CFDs and Forex by using the concept of net exposure bands. A specific margin requirement percentage is associated to each band, which tends to be lower for small exposures and increases gradually for the bigger ones.

Where can I find the margin rates applied to an instrument?

The margin rates of each instruments can be found under their trading conditions in the platform. In the trade ticket you can see, instead, the calculation of the margin required for a position before you insert the order.

Which instruments use the tiered margin?

The tiered margin is used to calculate the margin requirements on Forex and CFDs tracking equities, ETFs and indexes. For each underlying, the requirements are given by the rating associated to a given equity and index, while it considers the liquidity of a cross in case of Forex.

What is the rating of equities and indexes?

The rating determines the risk category of an instrument. It goes from 1 to 6, where 1 represents the category with less risk and 6 the one with the highest risk. Therefore, equities and indexes on 1 will have the lowest margin requirement (and highest collateral requirement for equities), which increases (and decreases for collateral on equities) at each next rating level. Rating 6 has the worst margin or collateral requirements, set to 100% of the value of the underlying.

What is a rerating of equities?

The rerating of equities or indexes is the change of their risk category and, therefore of their rating. They are reviewed periodically, usually once per week on Mondays or when there are important market events or factors, which might affect a single instrument.

What happens after a re-rating?

The rerating can result in a change to a higher or lower rating. While the latter is beneficial for your margin requirement, the move to a higher rating can increase your margin (or decrease your collateral) requirements. If this happens, it might be necessary to deposit more liquidity in the account or reduce the exposure to avoid stop outs.

What is a margin change?

It is a change of the margin requirements consequently to re-ratings or to other events, including increased volatility, as a result of which there will be the need to reassess the requirements of certain products. This praxis is performed to mitigate the risk for the bank and the clients in adverse conditions.

Where do I find the new margin changes?

The periodic upcoming margin changes are visible under Account > Others > Upcoming margin and collateral changes. Extraordinary changes might be notified via email or phone, depending on the urgency or the specific situation. We try our best to inform our clients with proper time. But, there can be, situations in which the change must be done within a very short period of time, leaving little if no time to take any actions.

Why do the margin requirements need to be reviewed?

When you use margin products, you are opening positions, which are bigger, then your real deposit. Your losses and profits will be calculated on the total value of your positions and not on your margin requirements. In fact, you are using a sort of credit to invest and the margin is a form of guarantee you need to block into the account, in order to keep the position opened. The review of the margins is, therefore, performed to mitigate at our best the risk for the clients and the bank on certain positions, in case of market adverse situations, increased volatility, and a single or extraordinary event.

Can I ask for a lower or better margin or a review of the collateral requirements?

Margin and collateral requirements are decided and periodic reviewed by the Risk Management of our broker. For this reason, it is not possible to request different ones. Cornèrtrader can also not interfere with the broker’ Risk Management decisions.

Where can I monitor the total margin used in my account?

You can check the utilized margin of all your open margin positions in the margin utilization section in the platform. It is represented as a bar showing a percentage that goes from 0% to 100% (from green to red). The more it increases and moves from green to red, less collateral is available into the account to maintain your positions.

What is a margin call?

The margin call is the step before the stop out, which indicates that the account is getting to the level of having no longer sufficient collateral to maintain the open positions.

What is a stop out?

The stop out is the level at which all your margin positions, included long options, will be liquidated automatically, as there is no more sufficient collateral in your account.

Can I still insert orders when I am in margin call?

No, once the margin call starts, the execution of all new orders will be rejected, as there is no sufficient collateral to increase your exposure further. You will only be able to reduce. Be aware, however, that if you have multiple positions netted via FIFO (first in and first out) on an underlying, it can become very difficult if not impossible to reduce your exposure. In fact, some orders to close could imply an increase of the exposure, instead, and, therefore, the system would reject them.

How are the margin call and stop out notified?

The margin calls and stop outs are notified through the app myCornèr, via push notifications, and in the platform when you are logged in. If you don’t have your access to the myCornèr app any more or have forgotten your password, please contact us for the reactivation.

What can I do if I go in margin call?

If your account goes in margin call, you can either deposit more collateral in your account or reduce your exposure. However, there might not always be sufficient time to take actions as prices can move very fast and, from the margin call to the stop out, it might pass very little time. If you decide to send more funds, please note that we can book them only if we have successfully received them from your counterparty. A mere confirmation or a swift message cannot be used for the purpose.

At what level can I be stopped out?

The level at which stop out orders are automatically placed is when you reach 100% of your margin requirements. This, however, does not mean that your positions will be closed at exactly 100%. Stop out orders are, in fact, normal stop outs, which are converted into market orders and executed at the available price. For this reason, your positions may be closed well beyond the 100% limit and, in some cases (such as gaps), your account may go negative. It is therefore recommended that you keep sufficient collateral in your account and reduce your exposure at any time if necessary.

Cornèrtrader is the online trading brand of Cornèr Bank Ltd. The website, all pages thereof and the material contained therein are not intended for natural or legal persons who, by virtue of their nationality, place of business, residence or for other reasons are subject to a legal system that prohibits or limits access thereto, consultation, availability or publication thereof, the presentation of financial services or the marketing of certain financial products. In particular, certain sections or pages relating to products and services of Cornèr Bank Ltd. are intended only for persons resident and/or domiciled in Switzerland. Access to the Cornèr Bank Ltd. website is prohibited to all persons to whom such restrictions apply. Please also read the legal notes and privacy notice.
OK

Captcha not verified
Submission failed
>

Home»Marge requise

General

FAQ Margine Requise

Quels sont les produits utilisant des exigences de marge ?

Il s’agit de produits dérivés. Ils utilisent l'effet de levier, ce qui signifie qu'avec une petite garantie (exigence de marge) vous pouvez ouvrir des positions beaucoup plus importantes, que vous pourriez autrement faire avec la valeur de votre propre compte. Cornèrtrader propose comme produits dérivés des CFD (tous types), des options et des contrats à terme sur devises cotés et de gré à gré. Les actions simples, les obligations et les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas des produits dérivés mais sont normalement appelés produits de trésorerie (produits cash), car pour ouvrir une position, vous devez payer la valeur nominale totale de la transaction.

Que sont les exigences de marge initiale et de maintien ?

La marge initiale requise est celle nécessaire pour ouvrir une position. Une fois que l'ordre est exécuté et que la position est ouverte, la marge sera calculée sur la marge de maintien à la place, qui est normalement inférieure à la marge initiale.

Qu'est-ce que la marge étagée ?

La marge par paliers est une façon de calculer les marges sur les CFD et le Forex en utilisant le concept de bandes d'exposition nette. À chaque tranche est associé un pourcentage spécifique de marge requise, qui tend à être plus faible pour les petites expositions et augmente progressivement pour les plus grandes.

Où puis-je trouver les taux de marge appliqués à un instrument ?

Les taux de marge de chaque instrument peuvent être trouvés dans leurs conditions de trading sur la plateforme. Dans le ticket de transaction, vous pouvez voir, en revanche, le calcul de la marge requise pour une position avant d'insérer l'ordre.

Quels instruments utilisent la marge étagée ?

La marge étagée est utilisée pour calculer les exigences de marge sur le Forex et les CFDs qui suivent les actions, les ETFs et les indices. Pour chaque sous-jacent, les exigences sont déterminées par la notation associée à une action ou un indice donné, tandis qu'elles tiennent compte de la liquidité d'une pairede devises dans le cas du Forex.

Qu'est-ce que la notation des actions et des indices ?

Le rating détermine la catégorie de risque d'un instrument. Elle va de 1 à 6, où 1 représente la catégorie présentant le moins de risques et 6 celle présentant le plus de risques. Par conséquent, les actions et les indices notés 1 auront l'exigence de marge la plus faible (et l'exigence de collatéral la plus élevée pour les actions), qui augmente (et diminue pour le collatéral sur les actions) à chaque niveau de notation suivant. La notation 6 présente les exigences de marge ou de garantie les plus élevées, fixées à 100 % de la valeur du sous-jacent.

Qu'est-ce qu'un rerating d'actions ?

Le rerating d'actions ou d'indices est le changement de leur catégorie de risque et, par conséquent, de leur notation. Ils sont révisés périodiquement, généralement une fois par semaine le lundi ou lorsque des événements ou des facteurs importants se produisent sur le marché, qui peuvent affecter un seul instrument.

Que se passe-t-il après une nouvelle notation ?

Le changement de notation peut se traduire par un passage à une notation supérieure ou inférieure. Si cette dernière est bénéfique pour votre exigence de marge, le passage à une notation supérieure peut augmenter vos exigences de marge (ou diminuer vos garanties). Dans ce cas, il peut s'avérer nécessaire de déposer davantage de liquidités sur le compte ou de réduire l'exposition pour éviter les interruptions de paiement (stop-out).

Qu'est-ce qu'un changement de marge ?

Il s'agit d'un changement des exigences de marge suite à des réévaluations ou à d'autres événements, y compris une volatilité accrue, en conséquence de quoi il y a un besoin de réévaluer les exigences de certains produits. Cette pratique a pour but d'atténuer le risque pour la banque et les clients dans des conditions défavorables.

Où puis-je trouver les nouvelles modifications de marge ?

Les changements de marge périodiques à venir sont visibles sous Compte > Autres services> Changements de marge et collatéraux. Les changements extraordinaires peuvent être notifiés par e-mail ou par téléphone, en fonction de l'urgence ou de la situation spécifique. Nous faisons de notre mieux pour informer nos clients en temps voulu. Mais il peut y avoir des situations dans lesquelles le changement doit être effectué dans un délai très court, ne laissant que peu ou pas de temps pour prendre des mesures.

Pourquoi faut-il revoir les exigences en matière de marge ?

Lorsque vous utilisez des produits à marge, vous ouvrez des positions, qui sont plus importantes que votre dépôt réel. Vos pertes et profits seront calculés sur la valeur totale de vos positions et non sur vos exigences de marge. En réalité, vous utilisez une sorte de crédit pour investir et la marge est une forme de garantie que vous devez bloquer sur le compte, afin de maintenir la position ouverte. La révision des marges est donc effectuée pour atténuer au mieux le risque pour les clients et la banque sur certaines positions, en cas de situations défavorables sur le marché, de volatilité accrue, et d'un événement unique ou extraordinaire.

Puis-je demander une marge inférieure ou supérieure ou une révision des exigences en matière de garanties?

Les exigences en matière de marge et de garantie sont décidées et révisées périodiquement par la gestion des risques de notre courtier. Pour cette raison, il n'est pas possible de demander des exigences différentes. Cornèrtrader ne peut pas non plus interférer avec les décisions du Risk Management du courtier.

Où puis-je contrôler la marge totale utilisée sur mon compte ?

Vous pouvez vérifier la marge utilisée de toutes vos positions ouvertes dans la section d'utilisation de la marge de la plateforme. Elle est représentée par une barre montrant un pourcentage qui va de 0% à 100% (du vert au rouge). Plus il augmente et passe du vert au rouge, moins il y a de garanties disponibles sur le compte pour maintenir vos positions.

Qu'est-ce qu'un appel de marge ?

L'appel de marge est l'étape précédant le stop out, qui indique que le compte arrive à un niveau où il n'y a plus de garantie suffisante pour maintenir les positions ouvertes.

Qu'est-ce qu'un stop out ?

Le stop out est le niveau auquel toutes vos positions de marge, y compris les options longues, seront liquidées automatiquement, car il n'y a plus de garantie suffisante sur votre compte.

Puis-je encore insérer des ordres lorsque je suis en appel de marge ?

Non, dès que l'appel de marge commence, l'exécution de toutes les nouvelles commandes sera rejetée, car il n'y a pas de garantie suffisante pour augmenter davantage votre exposition. Vous ne pourrez que réduire votre exposition. Sachez toutefois que si vous avez plusieurs positions compensées via FIFO (first in and first out) sur un sous-jacent, il peut devenir très difficile, voire impossible, de réduire votre exposition. En fait, certains ordres de clôture pourraient impliquer une augmentation de l'exposition, au contraire, et, par conséquent, le système les rejetterait.

Comment l'appel de marge et le stop out sont-ils notifiés ?

Les appels de marge et les stop out sont notifiés via l'application myCornèr, via des notifications push, et dans la plateforme lorsque vous êtes connecté. Si vous n'avez plus votre accès à l'application myCornèr ou si vous avez oublié votre mot de passe, veuillez nous contacter pour la réactivation.

Que puis-je faire en cas d'appel de marge ?

Si votre compte fait l'objet d'un appel de marge, vous pouvez soit déposer une garantie supplémentaire sur votre compte, soit réduire votre exposition. Cependant, vous n'aurez pas toujours le temps de prendre des mesures, car les prix peuvent évoluer très rapidement et, entre l'appel de marge et le stop out, il peut s'écouler très peu de temps. Si vous décidez d'envoyer des fonds supplémentaires, veuillez noter que nous ne pouvons les comptabiliser que si nous les avons reçus de votre contrepartie. Une simple confirmation ou une copie du swift ne peuvent être utilisés à cette fin.

À quel niveau puis-je être arrêté ?

Le niveau auquel les ordres stop out sont automatiquement placés est celui où vous atteignez 100% de vos exigences de marge. Cela ne signifie toutefois pas que vos positions seront fermées à 100% exactement. Les ordres stop out sont, en fait, des stop out normaux, qui sont convertis en ordres au marché et exécutés au prix disponible. Pour cette raison, vos positions peuvent être fermées bien au-delà de la limite de 100 % et, dans certains cas (comme les gaps), le solde de votre compte peut devenir négatif. Il est donc recommandé de conserver une garantie suffisante sur votre compte et de réduire votre exposition à tout moment si nécessaire.

Cornèrtrader est la marque de trading en ligne de la Cornèr Banque SA. Le site, toutes ses pages et le matériel qu'elles contiennent ne s'adressent pas aux personnes appartenant à des juridictions dans lesquelles – en raison de la nationalité, de la personne, de sa résidence ou pour d'autres raisons – leur accès, leur consultation, disponibilité ou publication sont limitées ou interdites. Le contenu des sections "La Cornèr Banque" et "Nos services" s'adresse uniquement aux personnes domiciliées, respectivement résidant en Suisse: la section "Nos fonds" s'adresse uniquement aux pays où ceux-ci sont enregistrés. Les personnes qui ne satisfont pas à ces exigences doivent en conséquence s'abstenir d'y accéder. Lire les mentions légales et la Déclaration sur la protection des données.
OK