INVEST IN BITCOINS

Bitcoin trading

Bitcoin is still the best-known cryptocurrency with the highest market capitalisation. The blockchain technology it is based on enables reliable financial transactions - beyond the reach of authorities, banks and institutions. Although there are many digital currencies to choose from today, bitcoin opens up interesting investment opportunities. Click here for more information.

How to find Bitcoin in the platform

Search for "Bitcoin" under the Trading section. The related ETNs will appear in the research list. Bitcoin Tracker One is traded in SEK (Swedish krona), while Bitcoin Tracker EUR is quoted in EURO. Both are issued by XBT Provider AB and traded on the Nasdaq OMX (Stockholm). 

Trading Bitcoins on the platform

In order to activate the price on these ETNs, the live feeds on the Nasdaq (Stockholm) under the Subscription tool will need to be enabled.

Commissions

Exchange

 

Private

Capital

Pro trader

Nasdaq OMX Stockholm
0.25%
 
No custody fees
0.20%
 
No custody fees
0.07%
 
No custody fees

What is an Exchange Traded Note (ETN)

It is a debt note issued by an underwriting bank and traded usually on an Exchange. ETN has a maturity date and can be sold short. ETN doesn't own any underlying asset of the index or benchmark it tracks but it reflects its movement.

ETN provides investors returns of a market benchmark and is usually linked to its performance or a strategy. When held to maturity, the investor will receive a cash payment linked to the performance of the corresponding index for the period going from the beginning of the trade date till the maturity, minus fees.

BITCOIN: The Mother of all Cryptocurrencies

 

Though initially devised as a means of peer-to-peer payment, it has slowly evolved into an attractive object of investment. Named the “mother of all digital currencies”, bitcoin is based on a white paper published under the pseudonym Satoshi Nakamoto in 2008.  The paper described a payment system that would permit transfers from one party to another free of the need for banking infrastructure and free of control by the authorities. To achieve this, a decentralised infrastructure consisting of a network of private software clients was created. Together they form the backbone of the system and they also ensure that transactions are processed and verified.

 

building the chain

Bitcoin mining: building the chain, block by block 

 

Together, the bitcoin clients forming the decentralised infrastructure create the Blockchain: all transactions are saved in a text file, and so - in principle - on any computer on which a client is in operation. Using special mining software, the members record the transactions initiated in the network, verify them, and write them into the file, block by block. This blockchain (blocks linked together) becomes the main, centralised, history of all payments made in the global network. Due to the high number of permanently saved transactions, it is no longer possible to change the ones that have already been recorded - which is the special charm of this technology.

The issue of security is always of primary importance: two digital signatures are required to enable any transaction to be carried out at all - one for anonymous publication and one for encrypting the transfer. While the other members of the network can detect and verify the account balance and the planned transfer, the names of the actors remain unknown. In addition to single SPV clients, which as a rule are operated by users and need not store the complete blockchain in memory, clients can also function as nodes. Nodes are centralised communication hubs that record transactions and, upon verification, distribute them to other nodes within the global bitcoin network.

 

bitcoin mining

Bitcoin - more than an alternative payment system

 

To understand why this implied distinction is important, take a look at the current size of the blockchain, which encompasses at least 55 gigabytes now and is growing rapidly. The creation of bitcoins, so-called mining, is limited by a cleverly designed system. Miners that process transactions make available to the bitcoin network a certain computer capacity and receive for each block added to the chain  a certain number bitcoin credits.  To be able to create an artificial scarcity, a specific level of difficulty is to be overcome in the mining process. Namely, miners must solve mathematical problems that, in conjunction with verifying the transactions, are “proof of work”.

This consciously created scarcity ensures a high price per bitcoin in comparison to other cryptocurrencies. At the end of 2017, around 17 million bitcoins were in the market and the level of market capitalisation was 250 billion euros. Bitcoin has been able to transcend its role as a genuine alternative payment system and is now a lucrative object of investment as well. Experts note that additional cryptocurrencies are gaining ground, but there is much that militates in favour of bitcoin - a system of payment that is by now established and used by a growing number of companies and institutions.

 

ETN as a smart alternative

Investing in Bitcoin: ETN as a smart alternative

 

Rather than directly buying bitcoins, which involves selecting and installing a suitable client with appreciable attendant expense,  investors have a far simpler option for gaining exposure to the performance of bitcoin: bitcoin ETNs. Exchange traded notes (ETNs) are exchange-traded bonds payable to bearer that track the mean value of the bitcoin rate in US dollars on the most liquid trading floors. On the other hand, with physically secured ETNs, the issuer actually acquires and holds the bitcoins that correspond to the invested capital.  These ETNs are relatively easy to acquire and to manage, making them a lucrative addition to investment portfolios.

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

BITCOIN

Product type: Certificate (Exchange Traded Note)
Symbols: BITCOIN_XBT:xome (SEK) / BITCOIN_XBTE:xome (EUR)
Exchange: Nasdaq (Stockholm)
Issuer: XBT Provider AB (publ)
Underlying asset: Bitcoin nominated in USD
Leverage: 1:1
Expiry date: Open-ended

INVESTIEREN SIE IN BITCOIN

Bitcoin handeln

Der Bitcoin ist nach wie vor die bekannteste Kryptowährung mit der höchsten Marktkapitalisierung. Die zugrunde liegende Blockchain-Technologie ermöglicht zuverlässige Finanztransaktionen - und das ausserhalb des Einflussbereichs von Behörden, Banken oder Institutionen. Auch wenn zwischenzeitlich eine ganze Reihe digitaler Währungen zur Auswahl stehen, eröffnet der Bitcoin interessante Investmentmöglichkeiten. Weitere Informationen finden sich hier.

Wie finden Sie die Instrumente auf der Plattform?

Suchen Sie nach ''Bitcoin'' unter Trading und die beiden ETN's erscheinen im Suchfeld. Bitcoin Tracker One wird in SEK (schwedische Krone) gehandelt, während Bitcoin Tracker Euro in EUR notiert ist. Beide Instrumente werden von dem Anbieter XBT AB herausgegeben und auf der Nasdaq OMX Börse (Stockholm) gehandelt.

Bitcoin ETN

Um die Preise für die ETN's zu aktivieren, müssen Sie die Live-Preise für die Nasdaq Börse Stockholm unter Abonnements in der Plattform freischalten.

Gebühren

Börse

 

Privathändler

kapitalhändler

Prohändler

Nasdaq OMX Stockholm
0.25%
 
Keine Depotgebühren
0.20%
 
Keine Depotgebühren
0.07%
 
Keine Depotgebühren

Was ist ein Exchange Traded Note (ETN)

Dies ist ein Zertifikat, welches durch eine herausgebende Bank emittiert wird und über einen Börsenplatz gehandelt werden kann. ETN's haben ein Ablaufdatum und können Short verkauft werden. ETN's reflektieren ausschliesslich die Schwankungen des Basiswertes, ohne diesen zu besitzen. 

Die ETNs reflektieren die Wertentwicklungen der verschiedenen Märkte, die Sie verfolgen. Falls die ETNs bis zum Ablaufsdatum gehalten werden, erhält der Investor die Barmittel Auszahlung, die sich durch die jeweilige Differenz der Kursentwicklung des jeweiligen Marktes in der Zwischenzeit nach den Gebühren ergeben hat. 

 Mutter aller digitaler Währungen

 

Was zunächst als Peer-to-Peer-Zahlungsmittel konzipiert wurde, hat sich längst zum attraktiven Anlageobjekt entwickelt: Der als "Mutter aller digitaler Währungen" bezeichnete Bitcoin fusst im Grunde auf einem Whitepaper, das unter dem Pseudonym Satoshi Nakamoto bereits im Jahr 2008 veröffentlicht wurde. Es beschrieb ein Zahlungssystem, das Transfers von einer Partei zur anderen erlauben sollte, ohne auf die Infrastruktur von Banken angewiesen und damit auch für Behörden nachvollziehbar zu sein. Dazu wurde eine dezentrale Infrastruktur geschaffen, die aus einem Netz privater Software-Clients besteht: Gemeinsam bilden sie nicht nur das Backbone des Systems, sondern stellen auch die Verarbeitung und Verifizierung der Transaktionen sicher.

 

Block für Block zur Blockchain

Bitcoin Mining: Block für Block zur Blockchain

 

Die dezentral organisierten Bitcoin-Clients schaffen gemeinsam die Blockchain: Sämtliche Transaktionen werden in einer Textdatei gespeichert - und zwar im Prinzip auf jedem Rechner, mit dem ein Client aktiv ist. Mithilfe einer speziellen Mining-Software nehmen die Mitglieder die im Netzwerk initiierten Transaktionen auf, prüfen sie und schreiben sie blockweise in diese Datei. Diese Blockchain, also Kette aus Blöcken, stellt die zentrale Historie aller getätigten Zahlungen des globalen Netzwerkes dar. Schon wegen der hohen Zahl an permanent gespeicherten Transaktionen ist die Änderung einer bereits erfassten nicht mehr möglich - was den besonderen Charme der Technologie ausmacht.

Das Thema Sicherheit wird ohnehin gross geschrieben: Es sind jeweils zwei digitale Signaturen notwendig, um überhaupt eine Transaktion ausführen zu können - eine zur anonymen Veröffentlichung und eine zur Verschlüsselung der Transfers. Während die anderen Mitglieder des Netzwerkes demnach das Guthaben und die geplante Überweisung erkennen und prüfen können, bleiben die Namen der Agierenden unbekannt. Neben den einfachen SPV-Clients, die in der Regel von Verbrauchern genutzt werden und ohne die Abspeicherung der kompletten Blockchain auskommen, können Clients auch als Nodes fungieren. Darunter sind zentrale Kommunikationsknotenpunkte zu verstehen, die die Transaktionen aufnehmen und nach der Prüfung weiter an andere Knotenpunkte im globalen Bitcoin Netzwerk verteilen.

 

Bitcoin Mining

Bitcoin - mehr als alternatives Zahlungssystem

 

Warum diese Unterscheidung wichtig ist, zeigt ein Blick auf die zwischenzeitlich erreichte Grösse der Blockchain, die mindestens 55 Gigabyte umfasst - Tendenz stark steigend. Die Schöpfung von Bitcoin, das sogenannte Mining, wurde nach einem ausgeklügelten System begrenzt: Damit die Transaktionsverarbeiter dem Bitcoin Netzwerk Rechenkapazität zur Verfügung stellen, erhalten sie für jeden erfolgreich in die Kette eingefügten Block Bitcoins gutgeschrieben. Um hier eine Verknappung künstlich zu organisieren, ist beim Mining ein bestimmter Schwierigkeitsgrad zu bewältigen. Der Miner hat also mathematische Probleme zu lösen, die im Zusammenspiel mit der Prüfung der Transaktionen den "Proof of Work" ausmachen.

Diese ganz bewusste Verknappung sorgt für einen im Vergleich zu anderen Kryptowährungen hohen Stückpreis: Ende 2017 sind rund 17 Millionen Bitcoins auf dem Markt, die Marktkapitalisierung wird mit 250 Milliarden Euro angegeben. Der Bitcoin konnte zwischenzeitlich nicht nur als Zahlungssystem zur echten Alternative avancieren, sondern in erster Linie auch zum lukrativen Investmentobjekt. Experten sehen zwar weitere Kryptowährungen auf dem Vormarsch, es sprechen aber einige triftige Gründe für den bei einer wachsenden Zahl an Unternehmen und Institutionen als Zahlungsmittel etablierten Bitcoin.

 

ETN als clevere Alternative

Investment in Bitcoin: ETN als clevere Alternative

 

Im Gegensatz zum direkten Erwerb von Bitcoins, der mit der Auswahl und Einrichtung geeigneter Clients beginnt und mit relativ hohem Aufwand verbunden ist, können Anleger deutlich einfacher an der Performance der Kryptowährung partizipieren: mit einem Bitcoin ETN. Exchange-traded Notes (ETNs) bilden als börsengehandelte Inhaberschuldverschreibungen den Mittelwert der Bitcoin-Kurse in US-Dollar an den liquidesten Handelsplätzen ab. Als Besonderheit gelten die physisch abgesicherten ETNs, bei denen der Emittent für das investierte Kapital tatsächlich Bitcoins erwirbt und vorhält. Diese ETNs lassen sich relativ leicht erwerben und verwalten, was sie als lukrative Beimischung für Anlageportfolios so interessant macht.

PRODUKTBESCHREIBUNG

BITCOIN

 
Produktart: Zertifikat (Exchange Traded Note)
Symbol: BITCOIN_XBT:xome (SEK) / BITCOIN_XBTE:xome (EUR)
Börse: Nasdaq (Stockholm)
Herausgeber: XBT Anbieter AB (publ)
Basiswert: Ethereum nominated in USD
Hebel: 1:1
Verfallsdatum: Kein Verfallsdatum